Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here’s a little bonus rant for the week.

I am NOT a child. Nor am I a moron. I may do some foolish things every now and again and I may say some nonsensical things from time to time but still…I have my wits.

My coworkers are trying to incite fear into me as a prepare to travel abroad this year. Yes, I understand that they are worried, and yes, I get that they care. But it is not prudent or “caring” to tell someone that they should like about getting abducted. I mean, seriously?! That’s what the fuck you want to tell me? That’s what’s on your mind? I’m sorry for you.

I feel badly for my coworkers that they feel so restricted in themselves that the thought of travelling alone automatically circulates feelings of fear and apprehension. I tried many times to explain to them that I am not worried for my safety nor am I worried about other people. I’m not going to go wondering down dark alleys at night, I’m not going to give out my residence information, or even run off with strangers. Instead, I let them know that I 1. am planning to learn basic Thai phrases and will research the culture and customs along with tourist friendly places. 2. I plan to adhere to ALL cultural norms and be respectful of them. 3. I plan to NOT be an AMERICAN.

By not being an American, what I mean is that I will not be the typical American tourists who is flashy and showy with their technology and stubborn in their ways. This trip is about creating new experiences and I want to be able to do so with an open mind.

I actually believe that their fear is not for my safety, it actually has nothing to do with me at all. I actually don’t even believe they’re afraid for my well-being. I think at the end of the day, they’re envious. Not envious of me, per se, but envious that I have the ability to decide to travel alone, envious of the fact that I’m brave enough to do so, and envious that they cannot incite fear into me. I’m good off that. That ain’t nothing but the devil. My Jesus did not create me to have a spirit of fear, he did not mold me to be concerned about what others may want to do to me, cause me harm. He said lean into him and not on my own understanding and that’s what I shall do. Good try tho, Lucy. You can’t win with that bullshit over here though. #HaveSeveralSeats