Fresh on the heels of his new album, To Pimp A Butterfly, Kendrick Lamar has sparked a new debate, unintentionally, about colorism.

It seems as though Kendrick is engaged to his long time girlfriend, who is fair skinned. Now, the issue is not her complexion, per se, but the fact that Kendrick often raps about darker skinned women and loving women of a darker complexion.

Here’s my take on it. Colorism is real. I should know, I fall into that category of people who practice it. Do I believe that light skin is the right skin? No. Do I believe dark skinned women aren’t as beautiful?  Hell no. What I do believe is that generations upon generations have passed down these ideals and assimilation tactics. It is so far gone that we now hate our own.

I don’t need to hate on my light skinned sister  just because she café au lait skin and light eyes. That don’t make her no better than me. I also don’t need to belittle my dark skinned sister by giving her half assed compliments like,  “you’re pretty for dark girl.”

I feel no shame in saying that I have a preference. Though I don’t want children, I cannot stop the will of God. If he sees fit to impregnate me, past my many forms of birth control, I want a child I can relate to. I grew up with a dark skinned sister and a light skinned cousin, and me,  myself, well I’m a pretty fine brown with cinnamon highlights.

I listened to my family call each other darkie and porcelana, which is a skin bleaching cream. I don’t know what it’s like to be light skinned nor dark,  nor can I predict that by me only dating redbones that my child will come out closer to my complexion than his.

Just for the record, I don’t only date light men. I let a few sexy darker skinned men take me down. I’m not saying I’m an EEO, but what I am saying is that we all have a preference, whether it’s light skin, dark skin, tall, short, slim or thick.

image

